I’ve Had It With Myself: It’s Time For a Reset

Yep, this is my first post, and I’m just jumping right in. I’ll get there later with what up with me.

The bottom line is that I’m disgusted with myself. I have officially gained back all the weight I really struggled to lose this past year – 10 pounds and that wasn’t even where I needed to get to – and something’s got to be done.

I decided to do a cleanse to “reset” – basically three days of juicing, after which I would be a better eater than before. Simple, right?

I had done a three day cleanse a few years ago, which involved on day two a horrible headache, vomiting at work (office job – nice), and enough, um, bathroom adventure that I actually googled “what to expect on a cleanse”. I didn’t want to go through that again, especially since I’m just using it as a reset period.  I’m not convinced there is such a thing as detoxing, and google is no help on this topic.

After some googling around, I decided that without a juicer and the time to make everything, it would be easier (and probably not much more expensive) to let someone else handle it. And it turns out you can buy almost anything on Amazon, which is awesome, ‘cause the reviews helped me understand what to expect. I settled on Jus by Julie, which promised “A three day juice cleanse is a quick and easy way to restart your body and start fresh”. Perfect!

I placed my order on a Monday night, and was anxious about delivery on Wednesday, as I knew the product needed to get into the fridge and freezer ASAP. Unfortunately, I received shipping notification, but not tracking information, so I had no idea if it was in the building and sitting in our shipping department or what. (I had it shipped to work, rather than leaving it to sit on my porch all day.) Fortunately when it arrived it was still quite slushy, and I was quickly able to find the directions and get my juices split up between fridge and freezer and what was staying at work and what was coming home.

Naturally, I spent the day eating worse than the recent not-very-good eating I’d been doing, reminding myself I wouldn’t be able to eat for the next three days. Yes, when it comes to food, I can talk myself into anything.

I had an appointment with the trainer at the gym; he cancelled on me (unusual), but I was a good girl and went anyway, figuring that it would be tough to go on so few calories in the coming days. I did my core routine, the highest impact of my routines, and then stayed on for a yoga class.

Then I came home and ate some more. And some more. Did I mention that I’m disgusted with myself?

Leave a Reply

